Regional & seasonal

recipes

"Wäinzoossiss" with mashed potatoes and sugar snap peas

Preparation and cooking time: 60 minutes

Peel the potatoes, cut them into large cubes and boil them in salted water for 25 minutes. During this time, heat the milk with butter, salt, pepper and grated nutmeg. Then press the cooked potatoes into the warm milk-butter mixture with a mash press.

Cut the washed sugar snap peas into lozenges. Sauté the cut sugar snap peas with the chopped shallots, rosemary, salt and pepper in a cooking pot. Add 4 cl of water and steam with a lid on the pot.

Chop the shallots and sauté in the butter until translucent. Deglaze with Riesling and meat stock and reduce. Add the mustard and cream and continue to boil down. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Finally, fry the "Wäinzoossissen" in the warm oil.

Enjoy your meal!

Ingredients for 4 people:

Mashed potatoes and sugar snap peas

750 g floury potatoes
80 g butter
100 ml milk
10 g shallots
160 g sugar snap peas
Rosemary
Salt, pepper, nutmeg

"Wäinzoossiss" with mustard sauce

4 "Wäinzoossissen” (sausages, Luxembourgish speciality)
2 tbsp rapeseed oil
20 g butter
10 g shallots
10 cl meat stock
10 cl cream
10 cl Riesling
2 tbsp mustard
Salt, pepper

Recipe presented by

Beaufort Youth Hostel

The kitchen staff are happy to present Luxembourg cuisine in the multicultural environment of the youth hostels. This naturally includes food from regional and seasonal production. The honey used in the kitchens is produced by bees whose hives are located on the roofs of the youth hostels in Esch-Alzette and Luxembourg City. The eco-balance plays an important role in the selection of products and therefore unnecessary transports are avoided.

Philosophy

Nature conservation and environmental protection are matters close to the heart of the "Auberges de jeunesse luxembourgeoises asbl". Ecotourism also includes sustainable nutrition and local food. Above all, regional and fair-trade products are used. When compiling the menus, the seasons are considered. In addition, as little food as possible is thrown away in the youth hostels. To this effect, the portions are adapted to the wishes of the clients.

At our youth hostels, the food is not cheap, but fair and inexpensive.

Join in and send us

Mach mit und sende uns

your favourite recipe

Seasonal

recipes

Have fun trying this recipe at home!

REgionale & saisonale

REzepte

“Wäinzoossiss” mit Kartoffelpüree und Zuckerschoten

Zubereitungs- und Kochzeit: 60 Minuten

Die Kartoffeln schälen, in grobe Würfel schneiden und 25 Minuten in gesalzenem Wasser kochen. In dieser Zeit die Milch mit Butter, Salz, Pfeffer und geriebener Muskatnuss erwärmen. Anschließend die gekochten Kartoffeln mit einer Püreepresse in die warme Milch-Butter-Mischung pressen.

Die gewaschenen Zuckerschoten in Rautenform schneiden. Die geschnittenen Zuckerschoten mit gehackten Schalotten, Rosmarin, Salz und Pfeffer in einem Topf anschwitzen. 4 cl Wasser hinzugeben und mit einem Deckel auf dem Topf dünsten.

Die Schalotten hacken und im Butter glasig dünsten. Mit Riesling und Fleischfonds ablöschen und einkochen lassen. Senf und Sahne hinzugeben und weiter einkochen lassen. Mit Salz und Pfeffer abschmecken. Zum Schluss die „Wäinzoossissen“ im warmen Öl braten.

Guten Appetit!

Zutaten für 4 Personen:

Kartoffelpüree und Zuckerschoten

750 g mehlige Kartoffeln
80 g Butter
100 ml Milch
10 g Schalotten
160 g Zuckerschoten
Rosmarin
Salz, Pfeffer, Muskatnuss

„Wäinzoossiss“ mit Senfsoße

4 „Wäinzoossissen“ (luxemburgische Wurstspezialität)
2 EL Rapsöl
20 g Butter
10 g Schalotten
10 cl Fleischfonds
10 cl Sahne
10 cl Riesling
2 EL Senf
Salz, Pfeffer

Rezept präsentiert von der

Jugendherberge Beaufort

Dem Küchenpersonal ist es ein Anliegen, im multikulturellen Umfeld der Jugendherbergen die Luxemburger Küche zu präsentieren. Dazu gehören natürlich Lebensmittel aus regionaler und saisonaler Produktion. Den Honig, der in den Küchen verarbeitet wird, produzieren Bienenvölker auf den Dächern der Jugendherbergen in Esch-Alzette und Luxemburg-Stadt. Die Ökobilanz spielt eine Rolle bei der Auswahl der Produkte und deshalb werden unnötige Transportwege vermieden.

Philosophie

Natur- und Umweltschutz sind für die „Auberges de jeunesse luxembourgeoises asbl“ eine Herzensangelegenheit. Zum Ökotourismus passt auch eine nachhaltige Ernährung sowie lokales Essen. Vor allem werden regionale und auch fair gehandelte Produkte verarbeitet. Bei der Zusammenstellung der Menüs werden die Jahreszeiten respektiert. Darüber hinaus werden in den Jugendherbergen so wenig wie möglich Esswaren in den Müll geworfen. Hierfür werden zum Beispiel die Portionen dem Hunger der Klienten angepasst.

Bei uns ist das Essen nicht billig, sondern fair und günstig.

Machen Sie mit und senden

Mach mit und sende uns

Sie uns Ihr Lieblingsrezept

Saisonale

RezeptE

Viel Spaß beim Nachkochen!