Fruits and vegetables

Fruit or vegetables – in August there's more or less everything. Along with red fruits, there are now apples, pears, mirabelles and plums to be had. All sorts of regionally grown fruit are available, and the month of August is also a winner in terms of the choice of vegetables on sale: aubergines, beans, broccoli, peas, tomatoes and many others.

#regionalsaisonal

Regional and seasonal food production also has a social component, because it creates a personal contact between the producer and the consumer, through which the consumer learns to value and appreciate the work that goes into producing the foodstuffs concerned.

This month's

tips and tricks

How to store red fruits for longer

You can make red fruits keep for a longer period if you rinse them in a mixture of vinegar and water (proportion: 1 part to 3). This helps to kill off mould spores and bacteria. Make sure you dry the fruits well before placing them in the fridge.

How to pit mirabelles

First wash and boil the mirabelles; then, by means of a strainer (food mill), the stones will simply detach themselves. In order to do this, place the strainer on top of a pan or dish and pour in the boiled mirabelles. The skins and stones will remain in the strainer, the pulp of the mirabelles is strained, and the result is a puree.

Baking using regional fruits

In this warm season, a home-made tart containing fresh fruits is just the thing! So why not bake a tart filled with products from the region? Flour, butter, eggs, apples, pears, plums, damsons, mirabelles, cherries … There's a wide choice of ingredients available. And for those with a sweet tooth, why not top it all off with a dollop of whipped cream or a scoop of ice cream?

Obst und Gemüse

Ob Obst oder Gemüse, im August gibt es beinahe alles. Zu den roten Früchten gesellen sich jetzt auch noch Äpfel, Birnen, Mirabellen und Pflaumen. Alle Obstsorten sind aus regionalem Anbau erhältlich und auch bei der Gemüseauswahl kann der Monat August punkten: Auberginen, Bohnen, Brokkoli, Erbsen, Tomaten, und vieles mehr.

#regionalsaisonal

Eine lokale und saisonale Lebensmittelproduktion weist auch eine soziale Komponente auf, da zwischen dem Produzenten und dem Verbraucher ein persönlicher Kontakt entsteht. Dadurch lernt der Verbraucher, die Arbeit hinter der Lebensmittelproduktion wieder mehr zu schätzen.

Tipps und Tricks

des Monats

Rote Früchte länger lagern

Rote Früchte lassen sich länger haltbar machen, indem man sie mit einer Mischung aus Essig und Wasser im Verhältnis 1:3 spült. Die Schimmelsporen und Bakterien werden dadurch abgetötet. Achten Sie darauf, die Früchte gut abzutrocknen, bevor Sie sie in den Kühlschrank legen.

Mirabellen entkernen

Mirabellen zunächst waschen und einkochen, dann lassen sich mithilfe einer Passiermühle (Flotte-Lotte) ganz einfach die Steine entfernen. Dazu die Passiermühle auf einen Topf oder eine Schüssel setzen und die eingekochten Mirabellen hineingeben. Die Schalen und Steine bleiben in der Passiermühle, das Fruchtfleisch der Mirabellen wird passiert und es entsteht ein Mus.

Mit regionalen Früchten backen

Für diese warme Jahreszeit ist eine selbstgemachte Torte mit frischen Früchten genau das Richtige? Also warum nicht mal eine Torte komplett mit Produkten aus der Region backen? Mehl, Butter, Eier, Äpfel, Birnen, Pflaumen, Zwetschgen, Mirabellen, Kirschen … Das Angebot ist groß. Und für diejenigen die es besonders süß mögen, darf ein Klecks Schlagsahne oder eine Kugel Eis natürlich nicht fehlen.