Fruits and vegetables

For climatic reasons, the month of July offers the widest choice of fresh fruit and vegetables, whether beans, peas, broccoli, aubergines or even zucchini. As well as lettuce, cucumbers, fennel and peppers are all in season. Red is the colour of the month in July, as seen in ripe tomatoes, red cabbage, redcurrants, raspberries and, of course, cherries.

#regionalsaisonal

Regional and seasonal food production also has a social component, because it creates a personal contact between the producer and the consumer, through which the consumer learns to value and appreciate the work that goes into producing the foodstuffs concerned.

This month's

tips and tricks

How to easily peel tomato skins

First cut the skin of the tomato in the form of a cross. Immerse the tomato in boiling water for 15 to 30 seconds and then cool it down for a brief period in a bowl of ice-cold water.

A simple way to pit cherries

Place the cherry on the mouth of a clean glass bottle and simply pierce it using a stick or a straw. As you will see, the cherry stone will fall into the bottle and the cherry will remain whole.

Peas – keep 'em green!

Peas often lose their lovely green colour through cooking. Add some bicarbonate of soda and sugar to the boiling water and chill the peas with ice-cold water after boiling. In this way, they will retain their natural colour.

Obst und Gemüse

Klimabedingt haben wir im Juli die größte Auswahl an frischem Obst und Gemüse, seien es Bohnen, Erbsen, Brokkoli, Auberginen oder auch Zucchini. Neben Salat haben auch Gurken, Fenchel und Paprika Saison. Die Farbe Rot ist im Juli voll im Trend: frische Tomaten, Rotkohl, rote Johannisbeeren, Himbeeren und natürlich Kirschen.

#regionalsaisonal

Eine lokale und saisonale Lebensmittelproduktion weist auch eine soziale Komponente auf, da zwischen dem Produzenten und dem Verbraucher ein persönlicher Kontakt entsteht. Dadurch lernt der Verbraucher, die Arbeit hinter der Lebensmittelproduktion wieder mehr zu schätzen.

Tipps und Tricks

des Monats

Tomatenschälen leicht gemacht

Schneiden Sie zunächst die Haut der Tomate kreuzförmig ein. Die Tomate für 15 bis 30 Sekunden in kochendes Wasser tauchen und anschließend kurz in einem Eiswasserbad abkühlen.

Kirschen ganz einfach entkernen

Legen Sie die Kirsche auf die Öffnung einer sauberen Glasflasche und stechen Sie mit einem Stäbchen oder Strohhalm einfach dadurch. Sie werden sehen, der Kern fällt in die Flasche, die Kirsche bleibt ganz.

Erbsen – Grün ist die Hoffnung

Erbsen verlieren häufig durch das Kochen ihre schöne grüne Farbe. Geben Sie zum Kochwasser einfach etwas Natron und Zucker hinzu und schrecken Sie die Erbsen nach dem Kochen mit Eiswasser ab. So bleibt die natürliche Farbe erhalten.